Open air museum
The Collection of Sandvig at Maihaugen was established in 1887 by the dentist Anders Sandvig. Together with Norwegian Museum of Cultural History at Bygdøy in Oslo it is the most important museum showcasing Norwegian farming culture.
Here you'll find an inside exhibition spread over 2000 square metres and an 300 open air museum showcasing the last 500 years of Norwegian culture: Farm estates, smallholdings, parsonages, transport stations, Garmo stave church, mountain hamlets and fishing cottages from the Gudbrandsdalen valley. The Fisherman's Chapel, which was inaugurated in 1459, is the oldest preserved notched curch building in Norway. The city exhibition has a replica of Storgata, the main street of Lillehammer, the way it appeared in the early 1900s. The museum also provides an area dedicated to villas from the 20th century, souvenir shop and café.
The museum is open year around, with the bulk of acitivity in the open air museum taking place during the summer. Admittance in the open air museum is free whenever the museum is closed. The gates of the open air museum is open year around from 7 am to 10 pm, but closed when acitivities take place. From September throughout May the museum is closed on Mondays
Guided tours may be arranged year around.